Gratitude tastes so good.

My friend J, the gal who recently got married from my post “the sweetest wedding ever” took me out to dinner as a thank you for all my hard work. I would have done it all three times over regardless of any sort of pay off. But, I have to say, this dinner was a really unexpected and amazing treat.

She took me to Olivea. The pastry chef there wins all sorts of national awards every year. Pastries!!! I am a bit of a pastry monster (much like the near cousin of the cookie variety). So I was thrilled when I heard about his accomplishments.

hungry eyes (for dessert!)

Dinner was really great. I had the Vegetarian special which was basically the fanciest version of falafel, hummus, and swiss chard I have ever had. It was super tasty.

one of the best things I have ever put in my mouth.

J’s super chocolatey heaven.


But the desserts stole the show once again. I had the almond torte, with lemon custard ice cream and fresh berry compote. This was quite possibly one of the best pieces of cake I have EVER had. I’m not kidding, at all. J had a caramel chocolate tart type thing with chocolate ice cream on the side. She said it was really good. I don’t like chocolate (I know, I’m crazy) so I’ll just have to take her word for it.

I wore a skirt that I got at forever 21 when I was probably 21. I’ll just leave it at that, I’ve had it a while. The pastel yellow button down is also new, from Anthropology. I really like its 1930’s silhouette. Pair with white sandals and white basket purse. ta da!

Thank you sooooo much J! It was great.

Ciao Torrebelle

Leave a Reply

