Pridetastic, sort of.

So this weekend was the Denver Pridefest. It was the usual gaudy, sweaty, smiley weekend that it always is. I wasn’t sure if I was even going to stay in town for Pridefest this year. I ended up sticking around and tried to make the best of it. I had grand plans of attending an event each day and night of the weekend, but I fell asleep super early on both Friday and Saturday nights.

A little pride went a long way. My rainbow ribbon got me through the work week.

ready, set, go!

I did make it out on Saturday day. I milled about the festival, checked out all the booths and got myself a new hat (Goorin Bros. Hats, wool felt, can’t wear till fall) and new pair of tube socks.

Shoga was bummed he couldn’t make it out for Pride.

I wore a vintage 1960’s blue mini dress and my new white sandals. I put a red scarf that was my grandmas in my hair and donned my lime green tote from Cirque du solel because it has a rainbow strap. I rode my bike down to the Denver Civic Center Park and then walked up to a bar called Charlies. That is where the Denver Dyke March was starting. I wasn’t sure if I would be a spectator or a participent, but I ran into some ladies from the Womyn’s Circle (a social group that meets on Tues. nights at the Center) and they asked me to march with them. I’m glad they did! It was really fun. There were so many ladies and I was able to get a few good pics. Though, I realized that I am going to have to build up some of my courage if I plan on featuring other fashionable queer ladies on this blog. I did get enough courage to ask the bouncer at Charlies for a shot, baby steps I guess.

Two of the super sweet ladies from Womyn’s Circle who meet at the Center on Tuesday nights when I volunteer. The Dykes on Bikes led the 4th Annual Denver Dyke March.

So many lesbians! We were all milling about waiting to start the March.

I ran into S the receptionist coordinator at the Center. Love her, she’s one of my Mama Bears!

Break time! Another delicious Moscow Mule from Prohibition.

The lovely ladies from Womyn’s Circle, a social group that meets at the Center.

More Dykes on Bikes

waiting ladies.

our fearless march leader!

Just a passer by.

the bouncer at Charlie’s

So dapper.

Marching down Colfax ave.

These two won my most stylish couple award. They don’t know that, but they did.

The next morning was the big Pride Parade. I wore a black halter top (thrifted), a vintage 1950’s barkcloth tiki print skirt, my red vintage belt and my black “walking wedges”.

I met up with my fabulous co-receptionist from the Center and some of his friends. We watched the debauchery parade and then had ourselves a sit down. We did some people watching, but the heat drove us all off. I decided to go home and take a nap before going dancing on Sunday night.

My friend L did my pridetastic manicure. Thanks L!

watching the parade with C, my fantastic co receptionist at the Center.

love this skirt! so tiki.

best walking shoes eveer! by vaneli

I met up with a friend of mine at Climax/Vinyl to dance the night away. They have a really great rooftop patio and that is where we spent most of the evening. I chose to wear my 1970’s tropical pink dress, the earlier mentioned walking wedges and gray flowery head band. I wanted my hair off my neck and a super breezy dress because I knew it would get crazy hot inside of the four story night club.

On the rooftop at Climax/Vinyl. I love me some rooftop patio parties.
Photo taken by Britt Chester of the Westword

Super crowded rooftop madness.

some lovely ladies.
Photo taken by: Emily Driskill for Westword

View of the Rocky Mountains at sunset. Great way to end Pride.

All in all I had a good Pridefest. It was a bit lonely, but I still enjoyed myself. Sort of.

4 thoughts on “Pridetastic, sort of.

Leave a Reply

