Homework and Volunteer Night

Okay, Okay, so everyday is homework night and once a week is always volunteer night, but I thought I’d share an outfit from one of those days. I volunteer as a receptionist for a few hours every week at the Center. It is Denver’s LGBTQ center.

www.glbtcolorado.org            check it!

It was important for me to find a way to give back to those who might not have the same kind of support that I have. It hit home when we had our weddings and I looked around and saw how lucky we were. We had so many supportive, loving friends and family and our guest list kept growing. Plus they all helped so much leading up to and the day of. That kind of support is priceless and it made me feel sad for all those couples out in cyber space that I read about that had no support. I felt really upset about all those young kids who feel like they can’t turn to their families (blood or chosen). So, here I am. I answer phones and greet the many visitors of the Center.

Dandy and I are finding that homework this semester is an everyday sort of thing. If we don’t do some portion every day, we start to slip behind. I am loving this semester thus far. My math teacher is a bit ancient but I like her sense of humor (I think I am the only one who finds her entertaining in the slightest bit). I am taking a theatre appreciation class as well, it is going well. Actually I wish I could drop everything and just take art, music and theatre classes but I suppose I will need the other skills I am learning.

Shoga gets really mouthy when we are sitting on the front porch, so I brought him out for a peek.

He doesn’t have the best eye sight, so when he comes out into the sun he just closes his eyes and sniffs. Cute!

taking a break from homework

I love the vintage buttons, the fun fabric print and the silk ribbon detail on the bolero.

the details, I love the details.

I wore a blue t-shirt, red HUE tights, my brown t-strap heals, a super soft 1950’s cashmere bolero cardigan and a skirt I sewed myself. I used vintage buttons from my grandma’s sewing supplies on the front of the skirt. Oh, and my little red bow headband that I think cost me a quarter.

Well it is not nearly so sunny now as I write this. We have about 2 feet of snow. I do have a short snowy blog on it’s way. Also I’d love to hear some of your stories about giving back to your community. Please tell me how you volunteer or donate and to whom or for what cause. Maybe it will inspire others to do the same!

Ciao Torrebelle

4 thoughts on “Homework and Volunteer Night

Leave a Reply

