tamale time

Well it’s been a while. Sorry for leaving you all hanging.

My friends throw an amazing New Years Day party every year. They open their home to an abundance of friends. We do a mexican vegetarian pot luck, drink all day and visit with all the people you wished you could see more often throughout the year. We gorge ourselves on homemade vegetarian tamales, YUM!

But before all this deliciousness occurs we have to actually make the tamales. So this Sunday was the tamale making party. Eight of us stood around their kitchen island while wrapping tamales, drinking margaritas and gossiping  catching up. It is always a great time. I really love how great it feels to all come together and prepare food for our friends. I don’t know why exactly. Maybe it’s the whole “it takes a village. . .” concept. I feel the ‘village’ concept is just as important for adults as it is for children.

homemade vegetarian tamales = food coma

The margaritas made for some blurry pictures (sorry, well, only a little sorry) but I think you get the gist.

My friends suggested I pose with an empty bowl and a large baguette. So . . . here you go.

I wore a turquoise 1950’s day dress, most likely from Boss Unlimited Vintage, red tights from Macy’s, black t-strap Naturalizers and a vintage apron.

After the tamale making marathon I headed over to an evening soiree. I volunteer at the Center (Denver’s LGBT center) as a receptionist once a week. The Center’s leading man and his husband invited all of us volunteer receptionists over for a holiday party. It was so nice to visit their lovely home. They are avid art collectors and their house could double as a museum. I fell for two of the Salvador Dali lithographs. C and I stayed later than everyone else and made a few new friends. Good times.

Then we went to the nearby gay bar, X Bar for a couple of drinks and dancing. It was fun. However, it spotlighted the decline of my marathon drinking skills. Oh, well. I suppose I’m just a cheaper date now days.

This is the moment I should have stopped drinking.

After the party we headed to the gay bar, gay bar, gay bar!

Leave a Reply

